clock menu more-arrow no yes

Bola Tinubu, the former governor of Lagos State, has been declared the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary elections.

To defeat his biggest opponents, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and former Rivers State Governor Rotimi Amaechi, the Asiwaju of Lagos received half of the total votes cast.

Around 2,322 delegates from around the country descended on Eagles Square in Abuja to determine the party’s flagbearer ahead of the general elections in 2023.

While Tinubu, who also serves as the party’s National Leader, received 1,299 votes, his main opponents, former Rivers State Governor and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, received 292 and 216 votes, respectively.

Ahmed Lawan, the Senate President, received 140 votes, while Yahaya Bello, the Governor of Kogi State, received 42 votes.

23 hopefuls were successfully screened to participate in the primary out of all those who obtained the N100 million nomination forms.

With the present situation, Tinubu will compete for the highest political position in the upcoming 2023 elections against former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and other party candidates.

Share your thought below: