The winner of the 2022 Ballon d’Or is Frenchman Karim Benzema of Real Madrid.

Since Zinedine Zidane in 1998, Benzema is the first French player to win the Ballon d’Or, and it is his first.

The most Ballon d’Or winners of any nation are from France, which has five different winners.

Benzema assisted Real Madrid in winning the Champions League and La Liga in 2021–22 by tallying 44 goals in 46 games.

Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas claimed victory.

Manchester City, who had six candidates at the awards, was named Club of the Year, beating out Liverpool.

Real Madrid and Belgium shot-stopper Thibaut Courtois won the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper, while Robert Lewandowski, who finished fourth in the top 10, received the Gerd Muller award for the best striker.

Sadio Mane of Senegal and Bayern Munich got the Socrates award for his humanitarian work, while Gavi of Barcelona and Spain won the KOPA trophy, which is given to the greatest young player in the world.